Greenlands Protection by Municipality

This section provides a more detailed discussion of the current state of Greenlands protection in each of the three single-tier and 11 upper-tier municipalities that make up the study area. The municipalities are presented starting with an inner core of six municipalities, organized from west to east: Hamilton, Halton, Peel, Toronto, York, and Durham. These are followed by an outer ring consisting of, from west to east: Niagara, Wellington, Waterloo, Dufferin, Simcoe, Kawartha Lakes, Peterborough, and Northumberland.

The following information is provided for each municipality:

  • a brief description of the natural environment setting of the municipality;
  • a table which summarizes the level of Greenlands protection according to the applicable Official Plan;
  • a pie chart that illustrates the percentage of land within each municipality by level of protection;
  • a colour map that graphically depicts each Greenlands feature/area by level of protection.